LibGuides: Crile Databases And Resources: Databases by Subject

English Databases

ABC-CLIO Multi-Database Search This link opens in a new window Multiple databases including Daily Life Through History, Issues: Controversy and Society, World Geography, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras, and World Religions
Biographies: Shapers of Society (FactCite) This link opens in a new window 101 men and women who shaped our world. Over 1,000 illustrations. Now with Lexiles® (880L to 1260L).
Biographies: Sports Champions (FactCite) This link opens in a new window 700 inspiring stories with 1,500 illustrations of athletes from all sports. Now with Lexiles® (820L to 1210L).
Biographies: U.S. & World Biography (FactCite) This link opens in a new window 10,000 biographies of famous people from around the world. More than 2,000 illustrations.
Biography for Beginners (FactCite) This link opens in a new window Illustrated biographies written especially for beginning and striving readers.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window Articles, most in full text, about more than a half-million people from around the world.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window Full-text information from more than 6,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers. Includes e-books, biographies, radio and TV transcripts, geographic information, primary sources, images, maps, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Full-text reference sources on all topics
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference Online is an ebook database containing specialized encyclopedias, almanacs, and reference resources for general research.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today. Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.

History Databases

American History: FactCite This link opens in a new window More than 6,000 illustrated articles of people, places, and events in American history. This resource includes: *Search eras in American history *Search the 50 states *Search on Native Americans *Search on the American Civil War
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window Information about daily life throughout history, from prehistoric times to present day.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Opposing Viewpoints is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues for users with access to both resources.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today. Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals.
World at War This link opens in a new window Recently revised, improved and expanded, this user-friendly database is an invaluable online resource that presents comprehensive information and unique insights into the military conflicts that have defined our world's identity from its beginning to today.
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window Start your school project here. Research tools, primary sources, e-books, biographies, sounds, videos, current events, images, maps, and timelines. Create your own account to track and share your research. Hear text read aloud. Translate articles into more than 30 languages.
World Geography: Understanding a Changing World This link opens in a new window Includes everything from documents and speeches to flags and maps about every country and region of the world.
World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras This link opens in a new window Information on prehistory (to 1000 BCE) and specific times and eras such as Ancient Greece, Ancient Rome, Egypt, the Islamic World, Medieval Europe, and the Americas (3000 BCE-1500 CE).
World History in Context This link opens in a new window World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.
World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy This link opens in a new window Everything from Buddhism, Christianity, Islam, and Judaism to Unbelief and new religions such as Scientology.

Science Databases

EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window Full-text information from more than 6,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers. Includes e-books, biographies, radio and TV transcripts, geographic information, primary sources, images, maps, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Full-text reference sources on all topics
Science: FactCite This link opens in a new window
Science in Context This link opens in a new window Science in Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science in Context draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
Science Online This link opens in a new window Science, math, and technology information articles, images, diagrams, videos, current events, experiments, biographies, and more. Hear text read aloud.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window Easy access to science and math information. Contains science experiments and full-text science encyclopedias, magazines, and journals.