LibGuides: Middle School: Grade 8: Changemakers: Databases

Databases: Science

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Full-text reference sources on all topics
Science: FactCite This link opens in a new window
Science Online This link opens in a new window Science, math, and technology information articles, images, diagrams, videos, current events, experiments, biographies, and more. Hear text read aloud.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window Easy access to science and math information. Contains science experiments and full-text science encyclopedias, magazines, and journals.
World Book Student (Middle School) This link opens in a new window Start your school project here. Research tools, biographies, videos, current events, images, maps, and timelines. Create your own account to track and share your research. Hear text read aloud. Translate articles into more than 30 languages.

Databases: General History

ABC-CLIO Multi-Database Search This link opens in a new window Multiple databases including Daily Life Through History, Issues: Controversy and Society, World Geography, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras, and World Religions
African-American Experience This link opens in a new window Providing a comprehensive survey of African American history, The African American Experience from ABC-CLIO shows students the challenges and contributions of African Americans across political, social, artistic, and literary contexts.
American History: FactCite This link opens in a new window More than 6,000 illustrated articles of people, places, and events in American history. This resource includes: *Search eras in American history *Search the 50 states *Search on Native Americans *Search on the American Civil War
Countries & Cultures: FactCite This link opens in a new window Information about countries including everything from population to economy to religion to social media statistics.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window Full-text information from more than 6,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers. Includes e-books, biographies, radio and TV transcripts, geographic information, primary sources, images, maps, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Full-text reference sources on all topics
NewsBank Newspapers This link opens in a new window Access full-text newspaper articles from all over the world as well as historical newspapers dating to 1900, including The Plain Dealer.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Claim an Academic Pass by visiting nytimes.com/passes and sign up with your Laurel School email address through Google.

HINT: Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and our mobile apps for the duration of your Pass. Visit nytimes.com/passes to view your Pass expiration timestamp at any time.
To claim a new Pass after expiration: visit nytimes.com/passes and log in with your NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today. Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals.
World Book Advanced This link opens in a new window Start your school project here. Research tools, primary sources, e-books, biographies, sounds, videos, current events, images, maps, and timelines. Create your own account to track and share your research. Hear text read aloud. Translate articles into more than 30 languages.
World HIstory: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window Covers various eras in modern world history from 1500 to present.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.

Passwords

Database passwords can be found on the Crile Canvas page

Databases for Biographies

Biographies: Shapers of Society (FactCite) This link opens in a new window 101 men and women who shaped our world. Over 1,000 illustrations. Now with Lexiles® (880L to 1260L).
Biographies: Sports Champions (FactCite) This link opens in a new window 700 inspiring stories with 1,500 illustrations of athletes from all sports. Now with Lexiles® (820L to 1210L).
Biographies: U.S. & World Biography (FactCite) This link opens in a new window 10,000 biographies of famous people from around the world. More than 2,000 illustrations.
Biography for Beginners (FactCite) This link opens in a new window Illustrated biographies written especially for beginning and striving readers.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Full-text reference sources on all topics
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today. Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals.
World Book Student (Middle School) This link opens in a new window Start your school project here. Research tools, biographies, videos, current events, images, maps, and timelines. Create your own account to track and share your research. Hear text read aloud. Translate articles into more than 30 languages.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.

INFOhio iSearch Search all INFOhio resources in one place.