Skip to Main Content 
Databases for Biographies
ABC-CLIO Multi-Database Search This link opens in a new window
Multiple databases including Daily Life Through History, Issues: Controversy and Society, World Geography, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras, and World Religions
Biographies: Shapers of Society (FactCite) This link opens in a new window
101 men and women who shaped our world. Over 1,000 illustrations. Now with Lexiles® (880L to 1260L).
Biographies: Sports Champions (FactCite) This link opens in a new window
700 inspiring stories with 1,500 illustrations of athletes from all sports. Now with Lexiles® (820L to 1210L).
Biographies: U.S. & World Biography (FactCite) This link opens in a new window
10,000 biographies of famous people from around the world. More than 2,000 illustrations.
Biography for Beginners (FactCite) This link opens in a new window
Illustrated biographies written especially for beginning and striving readers.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference sources on all topics
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today.
Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals.
World Book Student (Middle School) This link opens in a new window
Start your school project here. Research tools, biographies, videos, current events, images, maps, and timelines. Create your own account to track and share your research. Hear text read aloud. Translate articles into more than 30 languages.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.
