REMINDER: If you are using any of these databases outside of Laurel, passwords can be found on the Crile PowerSchool page!
ABC-CLIO Multi-Database SearchThis link opens in a new windowMultiple databases including Daily Life Through History, Issues: Controversy and Society, World Geography, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras, and World Religions
Biography Reference BankThis link opens in a new windowArticles, most in full text, about more than a half-million people from around the world.
Explora for Grades 6-8This link opens in a new windowLearn about your favorite subject. Look up words. Read magazines, newspapers, biographies, primary sources, country information. Find pictures. Translate articles into more than 30 languages.
U.S. History in ContextThis link opens in a new windowU.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today.
Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals.
World Book AdvancedThis link opens in a new windowStart your school project here. Research tools, primary sources, e-books, biographies, sounds, videos, current events, images, maps, and timelines. Create your own account to track and share your research. Hear text read aloud. Translate articles into more than 30 languages.
World History in ContextThis link opens in a new windowWorld History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.