Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African-American Experience This link opens in a new windowProviding a comprehensive survey of African American history, The African American Experience from ABC-CLIO shows students the challenges and contributions of African Americans across political, social, artistic, and literary contexts.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Full-text reference sources on all topics
NewsBank Newspapers This link opens in a new window Access full-text newspaper articles from all over the world as well as historical newspapers dating to 1900, including The Plain Dealer.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Create a free NYTimes.com account using your school email address. If you already have an NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address, log in with those credentials.
Check your email inbox for our confirmation message. Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your Pass. If the confirmation email didn’t arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn’t there, send an email to email@example.com from your school email address to request confirmation.
You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen. Now you can enjoy seamless, full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any location, on or off campus, just by logging into your NYTimes.com account. You may download NYTimes mobile apps at nytimes.com/mobile.
HINT: Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and our mobile apps for the duration of your Pass. Visit nytimes.com/passes to view your Pass expiration timestamp at any time.
To claim a new Pass after expiration: visit nytimes.com/passes and log in with your NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address.
New York Times Historical, 1851-2002 This link opens in a new window
Must be logged in to New York Times through Laurel account to access. Over 150 years of New York Times issues as they originally appeared (full-text PDF images, fully searchable).
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today.
Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.