Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for American Poet Research
All usernames and passwords for Laurel databases can be found on the Crile PowerSchool page. Usernames and passwords only required when outside Laurel.
Ancestry Classroom Research your family history and find historical information using census data, government records, primary sources, images, and more. Access only available at school or at your local public library.
Biography Reference Bank Articles, most in full text, about more than a half-million people from around the world.
EBSCOHost Full-text information from more than 6,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers. Includes e-books, biographies, radio and TV transcripts, geographic information, primary sources, images, maps, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Full-text reference sources on all topics
NewsBank Newspapers: America's Historical Newspapers Find news articles covering topics in government, politics, social issues, culture, literature, discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources . Search using either the timeline or topic search to easily find news and eyewitness accounts and pro/con articles of events and issues from the Progressive Era, World War I, the Great Depression, Vietnam War, World War II, Civil Rights Movement, Cold War, globalization and other eras. Also included are illustrations, advertisements, classifieds, birth and marriage announcements, obituaries, stories about historic people and other articles exactly as they appeared in print .
New York Times
Create a free NYTimes.com account using your school email address. If you already have an NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address, log in with those credentials.
Check your email inbox for our confirmation message. Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your Pass. If the confirmation email didn’t arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn’t there, send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org from your school email address to request confirmation.
You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen. Now you can enjoy seamless, full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any location, on or off campus, just by logging into your NYTimes.com account. You may download NYTimes mobile apps at nytimes.com/mobile.
HINT: Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and our mobile apps for the duration of your Pass. Visit nytimes.com/passes to view your Pass expiration timestamp at any time.
To claim a new Pass after expiration: visit nytimes.com/passes and log in with your NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address.
New York Times Historical, 1851-2002
Must be logged in to New York Times through Laurel account to access. Over 150 years of New York Times issues as they originally appeared (full-text PDF images, fully searchable).
U.S. History in Context U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today.
Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals.