Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Crile Databases & External Links for Research
ABC-CLIO Multi-Database Search This link opens in a new window Multiple databases including Daily Life Through History, Issues: Controversy and Society, World Geography, World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras, and World Religions
Countries & Cultures: FactCite This link opens in a new window
CountryReports This link opens in a new window CountryReports provides over 35,000 pages of online content on the cultures and countries of the world. With unique content from around the world, our members rely on us to keep our database concise and current.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window Full-text information from more than 6,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers. Includes e-books, biographies, radio and TV transcripts, geographic information, primary sources, images, maps, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Full-text reference sources on all topics
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new windowDesigned to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
NewsBank Newspapers This link opens in a new window Access full-text newspaper articles from all over the world as well as historical newspapers dating to 1900, including The Plain Dealer.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Create a free NYTimes.com account using your school email address. If you already have an NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address, log in with those credentials.
Check your email inbox for our confirmation message. Click on the link in your confirmation message to validate your email address and claim your Pass. If the confirmation email didn’t arrive, check your spam folder. If it isn’t there, send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org from your school email address to request confirmation.
You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen. Now you can enjoy seamless, full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any location, on or off campus, just by logging into your NYTimes.com account. You may download NYTimes mobile apps at nytimes.com/mobile.
HINT: Remain logged into your NYTimes.com account to have seamless access to NYTimes.com and our mobile apps for the duration of your Pass. Visit nytimes.com/passes to view your Pass expiration timestamp at any time.
To claim a new Pass after expiration: visit nytimes.com/passes and log in with your NYTimes.com account associated with your school email address.
New York Times Historical, 1851-2002 This link opens in a new window
Must be logged in to New York Times through Laurel account to access. Over 150 years of New York Times issues as they originally appeared (full-text PDF images, fully searchable).
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowArticles supporting pro and con sides of current issues. Helps you develop arguments to support your position, develop arguments. Includes essays, charts and graphs, images, and more. Hear text read aloud.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.
Writing a Position Paper
The paper should include a brief introduction and a comprehensive breakdown of the country‘s position on the topics that are being discussed within the committee. An excellent position paper includes:
- A clear statement of policy
- The country‘s background on the topic, including
- political and/or foreign policy
- action taken by your government in relation to the topic
- actions your government has supported or not supported
- resolutions and declarations that your country supports
- reference speeches made by heads of government
- Action that the country would support in a resolution.
Position papers are often broken up into two sections. The first includes the policy statement and is preceded by the heading "General Statement," while the second includes the country‘s background on the topic and action the country would support. This section is titled "Specifics." This format is encouraged, as it allows for very clear position papers.
Country Profile Resources
Countries & Cultures: FactCite This link opens in a new window Information about countries including everything from population to economy to religion to social media statistics.
Global Perspectives: Junior Model UN